UPDATE

Well, I’ve driven roughly 3000 miles, flown as many, and I stopped tallying my visits to Holiday Inn Expresses.  I have ten more bookstores stuck on the hard drive of my dead laptop along with countless photos from across the country.  Book stores in D.C., Mississippi, Colorado, and I can’t even remember where. The laptop just crashed one day.  I’d taken it in once before  – an HP.

I’m going to see about getting to the hard drive this week.  Once I post what I have, I’m going to see to the final 25.

If anyone is still visiting the site and has any suggestions on who the final 25 should be, please let me know.  And if you’re local, and it’s a favorite, maybe I can even talk you into guest blogging.

Thanks for continuing to check in!

Published in: on March 6, 2011 at 10:27 pm  Comments (5)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: http://indie100mfitten.wordpress.com/2011/03/06/update/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

5 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. if you are heading down south i would recommend capitol book & news in montgomery, al and sundog books in seaside, florida (seaside is a reknown beach community located on hwy 30-a between panama city beach and destin).

    • I’ve heard a lot of good things about Capitol Book & News. A gulf coast tour might be fun. Thx!

  2. Awesome idea!
    Good luck!

  3. Hello,

    Not sure if you are still pursuing this project, but I hope you are! I love the idea! I recently bought the book “My Bookstore: Writers celebrate Their Favorite Places to Browse, Read, and Shop”, and your project kind of reminded me of that book, which I love!

    I live in Michigan and my absolute favorite bookstore, which was not included in “My Bookstore” is Crazy Wisdom Bookstore in Ann Arbor Michigan. I could literally spend a whole day in there and still go back the next day, and the next. The website is: http://www.crazywisdom.net

    It’s been a staple in downtown Ann Arbor for over 30 years and is still a favorite of everyone in the Detroit Area. Even if you’ve completed your project, and you love bookstores, you should definitely try to visit it if you are ever in Michigan. I love this place! So homey and so much material to browse. They have a tea room upstairs with a cafe and plenty of comfy armchairs to read in. Anyway, I really enjoyed reading your blog and I hope you are still pursuing this project!

    C

  4. One of the best is Bookshop Santa Cruz in Santa Cruz California.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

