#3 Trident Booksellers & Cafe

Trident BooksellersTrident Bookseller & Cafe

338 Newbury Street
Boston, MA 02115
617-267-5688

 

 

 

Here’s an interesting business model: a full sevice restaurant, complete with beer and wine, and a popular weekend brunch service in a well-stocked bookshop in Boston’s Back Bay.

When I walk in on a Wednesday morning, I’m surprised to find a book store packed with customers who seem to be having a good timeEntrance to Trident.
People are milling about. People are reading. People are eating!

There is a large magazine section in this store.  This is the only magazine selection I’ve noticed at all the book stores I’ve visited.  Customers are encouraged to take reading material to the restaurant. In fact, books are displayed on the counters and along the walls in the restaurant.

They have a full selection of books and according to the manager, “Fiction sells most.”  I find an interesting “CREATIVITY” section with books by writers on writing and the creative process.  I pick one up by David Lynch called CATHCHING THE BIG FISH and I take it with me to the cafe where I order a full meal.  The menu selections are plentiful.  The food and service is good.  

The store manager, Michael Lamansky, is a young guy — 28 or so.  He shrugs off the giant book retailer that recently went in down the other end of Newbury St.  He credits “being organic and customer responsive” as the key to Trident’s success.

I think the good food at the restaurant helps a little.  That and the great selection of books.

Trident cafe

Published in: on May 5, 2009 at 2:07 pm  Comments (3)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://indie100mfitten.wordpress.com/2009/05/05/3-trident-booksellers-cafe/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Hi, really a very nice bookstore and café. I’ve been there a few years ago when I spent my holidays at the East coast. Thomas from Munich (Germany)

  2. […] be visiting a hundred independently owned bookstores on his tour. The Boston shops begin with post #3 Trident Booksellers & Cafe, where some lunching will accompany the browsing. Then it’s on to the Grolier Poetry Bookshop […]

  3. I’m not that much of a online reader to be honest
    but your blogs really nice, keep it up! I’ll go ahead and bookmark your website to come back down the road. All the best


Leave a Reply

