#57 Capitola Book Cafe

Capitola Book CafeCapitola Book Cafe
1475 41st AVE
Capitola, CA 95010
831-462-4415

Do you know Capitola Book Cafe?  It’s a destination stop in greater San Jose.  Really.  I only had thirty minutes in the area making my way down the coast and this is the store I stopped in.  I know there are other great stores in the area and I would have loved to have seen them, but I was catching a ride with a touring writer, and she had to be further down the coast later that night, and Capitola was just so passionate, I had to see the store for myself.

Capitola Books is thirty years old.  They service a lot of students from UC Santa Cruz.  They have 5,000 square feet of curated books.  The Cafe portion of Capitola is rented out to an established, local coffee house chain.   Capitola Cafe

It’s in a strip mall, but the mall is packed and people seem to slip in and out of the store seamlessly.  The customers are loyal and the store is as much a venue as it is a bookstore.

I couldn’t tell you a thing about San Jose other than it’s about ninety minutes south of SF.  I hear the beach is close by.

Worth a visit!

Book display at Capitola

Published in: on September 6, 2009 at 10:30 pm  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://indie100mfitten.wordpress.com/2009/09/06/57-capitola-book-cafe/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. I think you mean the greater Santa Cruz area. This bookstore is not in San Jose (not even close, actually). San Jose is 45 min drive over the hill in the valley. Santa Cruz and Capitola are both costal towns.


Leave a Reply

