#58/!!!PIT STOP!!! THE HENRY MILLER LIBRARY !!!PIT STOP!!!

The Henry Miller LibraryThe Henry Miller Library

Big Sur, US 1

I’m a huge Henry Miller fan.  In fact, he’s partly the reason I ditched college when I was nineteen and took off to live and tramp around Europe.  The quality of his writing that I liked best was that he knew how to fashion language in a way that reached ecstasy.  He just let it rip, and as a reult his best work had a depth and pathos that made ART.  And I really appreciate him as the artist.  Getting to visit this spot has always been a dream of mine.  the book room

I figured I’d make it my West Coast pit stop.  When I visited and discovered that it’s also a curated book store, I figured I’d add it as #58.

Until recently, the archives of Henry Miller were actually in this building.  While I’m sure they were perfectly fine, I was glad to hear they had been moved recently to California State University of Monterey Bay where they are being digitized.

Besides the book store, this two-acre spread features film festivals, weekly open-mic nights, concerts, and can be rented out for weddings.

As a place, I imagine Big Sur ain’t what it used to be, and probably hasn’t been for a while.  Sure, it’s laid back and it’s pretty, but it’s also crowded — Central Park crowded — with people coming down from SF and up from LA.  Not a bad thing and worth seeing, of course, but the Oregon coast is just as lovely and seems like it could be a little less crowded.  Just FYI.  On the other hand, I did go on a 3-hour hike and only saw a couple of other people the entire time.

Henry Miller's Hat

Henry Miller's Hat

Published in: on September 6, 2009 at 11:02 pm  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://indie100mfitten.wordpress.com/2009/09/06/58pit-stop-the-henry-miller-library-pit-stop/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. […] Events: The Henry Miller Library will be showing the film “Chavez: The Revolution Will Not Be Televised”, presented by producer Rod Stoneman on Wednesday, September 30th, at 7:30. Before and after the screening, Stoneman will be available to discuss the issues of objectivity in the media presented in both the film and his book by the same name. Screening is free; donations are appreciated. […]


Leave a Reply

